

Report of the Scrutiny Team Leader

Scrutiny Programme Committee - 14 May 2018

Membership of Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups

Purpose: The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for

appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be

considered.

Content: This report is provided to facilitate any changes that

need to be made.

Councillors are being asked to:

• agree the membership of Panels and Working

Groups, and any other changes necessary

note the appointment of statutory education

representatives to scrutiny

Lead Councillor: Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme

Committee

Lead Officer & Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Team Leader

Report Author: Tel: 01792 637257

E-mail: brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk

Legal Officer: Stephanie Williams

Finance Officer: Paul Cridland

1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Digital Inclusion Working Group:

Add Councillor Louise Gibbard.

This Working Group originally met in March 2017. At that meeting scrutiny councillors discussed the council's activities around improving digital inclusion and detailed a number of issues to be considered as part of a planned departmental review of the Council's digital inclusion strategy. The Committee has already authorised a further meeting to enable assessment of current position and councillors will be able to consider how well prepared both the Council itself and the public is to use and communicate / engage via digital technology. The elections in May 2017 have affected the membership of the Working Group, and with the above change will consist of:

Labour Councillors: 2

Labour Gouriomoro: L	
Louise Gibbard	Lesley Walton (CONVENER)
Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillo	rs: 2

Chris Holley Jeff Jones

The Committee will want to invite further interest before this Working Group takes place.

2.2 Natural Environment Inquiry Panel:

Remove Councillor Lesley Walton.

Following this change, the revised membership of the Inquiry Panel will be 10:

Labour Councillors: 5

Louise Gibbard	Peter Jones (CONVENER)
Yvonne Jardine	Sam Pritchard
Hazel Morris	

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 2

Elboral Bomooraumaoponaont Goanomoro. 2	
Wendy Fitzgerald	Jeff Jones

Conservative Councillors: 2

Paxton Hood-Williams	Will Thomas
----------------------	-------------

Uplands Councillor: 1

Irene Mann	

2.3 Development & Regeneration Performance Panel:

Add Councillor Peter Jones.

Following this change, the revised membership of the Performance Panel will be 10:

Labour Councillors: 4

Terry Hennegan	Gloria Tanner
Peter Jones	Mike White

Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 4

Wendy Fitzgerald	Jeff Jones (CONVENER)
Chris Holley	Mary Jones

Conservative Councillors: 2

Steve Gallagher	David Helliwell

- 2.2 Key considerations for the Committee:
 - It is necessary for more than one political group to be represented on each panel / working group.
 - These bodies also need to be of a manageable size in terms of team working and effective questioning.
 - A minimum of 3 members should be present at all meetings.

3. Statutory Education Scrutiny Parent Governor & Church Representatives

- 3.1 In addition to the 17 councillors the Committee includes in its membership a place for up to four Education Statutory Co-optees. This is in accordance with the Parent Governors Representatives and Church Representatives (Wales) Regulations 2001 and National Assembly for Wales Circular 2/00.
- 3.2 This is to enable the involvement of parent governors (1 x primary and 1 x secondary) and church representatives (where there are faith schools manged by the authority) in the scrutiny of education matters, with voting rights. They will also be entitled to sit on any relevant Panels and Working Groups focusing on education issues.
- 3.3 In accordance with legislation, in order to deal with existing vacancies and the completion of term of office by Dave Anderson-Thomas, parent governors across Swansea were written to inviting interest in participating in scrutiny. In addition the Church in Wales and the Catholic Church were contacted.

3.4 Parent Governor Representatives:

Following expressions of interest a ballot for both primary school parent governors and secondary school parent governors was arranged as more than one parent governor put their name forward. Following the conclusion of this process the following parent governors will be appointed to scrutiny:

- Primary School Representative Alexander Roberts (Bishopston Primary School)
- Secondary School Representative Dave Anderson-Thomas (Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr)

3.5 Church Representatives:

The Church in Wales and the Catholic Church are entitled to participate in scrutiny and provide a representative, and both were contacted recently.

- Church in Wales Representative Mr John Meredith will be appointed. He is currently the Director of Education for the Diocese of Swansea & Brecon.
- Catholic Church Representative No response however the Church will be contacted every six months to confirm the invitation remains open.
- 3.6 There are some formalities that need to be completed before the statutory representatives can begin to attend meetings, and will be invited to do so as soon as possible. The Term of Office has been set at four years.
- 3.7 Note: if the Committee deals with matters which do not relate wholly or in part to any education functions then the co-opted Members shall not vote on those other matters though they may stay in the meeting and speak.

4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Appendices: None